Finding What’s Lost

So, haven’t written in awhile.  I’ve been thinking about a lot of things, and some of those things deserve to be blog topics.  So, for awhile, you might be getting some heavy thinking blogs, just because I need to get some of this stuff out.

While I have lots on my mind now, this blog topic isn’t going to be as heavy as some of the things going on in my mind.  Or maybe it might.  We’ll see how deep it goes.

Have you ever  “lost” a really good friend?

What I mean by that is I had a childhood friend that I lost touch with years ago and recently found her again through social media.  (Score 1 for social media!)  Has this happened to anyone else out there?  Either losing a friend and can’t find them, or finding a friend after years of no contact?  It’s an exciting feeling when you find that friend again.

Maybe you don’t know what that feeling is.  The last two places I’ve lived in, many people have not left the area that they grew up in, so they’re childhood friends are either near or they know where they are.

I did not grow up like that.  I was a military brat.  And while my family may not have moved around as much as some families did, I still lived in military towns.  If you weren’t the one moving, someone else was.  I learned early on not to get too attached to the people around me that weren’t related to me.  But that’s a topic for another post that I plan to do later.

That’s what happened to my friend and me.  We were both military brats.  Somehow, I did let myself get close to her.  She was probably my closest childhood friend.   We met when we were in the fifth grade.  Her family moved when we were Sophomores in high school and my family moved a year later, when we were Juniors.  We did not end up in the same part of the country after we moved.  We kept in touch for awhile with phone calls and letters, but eventually those got fewer and fewer apart until we lost touch.  It happens.

Fast forward about 15 years later and I went on a hunt to find her through social media.  Actually, I’ve tried several times over the last few years to find her,  but didn’t have any luck until recently.  Found out, she’d been trying to find me too.  What an awesome feeling.

We spent quite a bit of time on the phone this past weekend catching up.   It was fun, exciting, and a bit awkward at the same time.   Don’t get me wrong, I loved catching up with her.  But we’ve gone through so much without each other that it was hard to remember what we did and didn’t know about each other now.  I guess we’ll have to have a few more phone calls to figure it all out.  I’m up for that.  Hopefully she is too.

I found out some really cool things, though.  We somehow ended up in the same career field (teaching Special Education to severely disabled students).  We both like Disney (I visit Disneyland quite a bit and she worked at Disney World for awhile.  Disney was not a topic we talked about as kids).  We both gave up playing the clarinet (although she says that I inspired her to try harder since I practiced mine more than she did – which, honestly I don’t remember).  Also, we found this to be funny – she remembers spending a lot of time at my house and I remember spending a lot of time at her house.  In reality, we probably spent a lot of time at each other’s houses.

We shared some of our triumphs and struggles over the years.  Some sad news as well.  Stuff I’m not willing to share on a public blog.

My advice to anyone out there who has a “lost” friend:  go find them.   And don’t give up until you do.  You won’t regret it.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by OpinionsToGo on April 22, 2013 - 7:54 pm

    Always happy to see your little avatar. Love your post…with the news being so full of horrific happenings, your sweet post is uplifting. WE ALL NEEDED THAT!!

    • #2 by Melissa Smith on April 28, 2013 - 4:47 pm

      Thanks Joanne! I always enjoy your comments.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,385 other followers

