Taking Chances

On Friday night I found myself sitting at an outside concert with a group of people I knew from work watching a concert where Rodney Atkins and Lady Antebellum performed.  I love Rodney Atkins and Lady Antebellum is one of my all-time favorite groups.

I had a blast.  I danced and sang the whole night.

So why is this post called Taking Chances?

Because going to a concert is a gigantic thing for me.

I don’t talk about it a lot, but I suffer from panic attacks and anxiety.  Big crowds and loud music would have triggered panic attacks in the past.  They didn’t on Friday night. 

Slowly, but surely, I’ve been conquering my fears the past two years.  Stepping out of my comfort zone to do things that I sure as heck wouldn’t have done as little as probably five years ago.

The first big thing I did was learn to drive on freeways. Actually I did this one more than five years ago out of necessity of living near L.A. and wanting to be independent.  That was probably my first step of conquering my fears.

Next, I moved away from home.  I’ve always liked to be close to family members.  They’re my comfort zone.  But, with state of California’s economy, I found myself moving away from family two years ago (I’m moving closer to them soon…but that’s a whole other blog post).

In the midst of moving away, I had to find an apartment.   At first, my Dad went with me.  We found an apartment, I applied for it, thought I’d get it, and we left the area.  A week later, I found out that I didn’t get the apartment. Dad was on a business trip.  I could either wait for him to come back or just pick-up and drive the 5 hours myself and find an apartment.  I chose to go by myself, which was totally out of character for me, but I did it.  I found an apartment on my own.

Another fear I conquered?  Flying.  Planes have always terrified me.  Which is sort of ironic since my father flew airplanes in the military when I was kid.  But, being on an airplane has always freaked me out.  And I refused to fly on my own.   However, last May, I had two out of state family functions I wanted to go to and the only way I could get there was to fly.  And since I don’t live near my parents anymore, I had to fly on my own.  That meant 4 trips on airplanes all by myself.  I freaked out a little, but I did it.

Flying was probably my biggest fear I conquered in the past year.   And I’m so glad I did it.

This concert this past Friday night was another thing I’m glad I did.  When the ticket was offered to me, I took the chance right away.  In the past I would have probably said, I’ll think about it.  Then, I would remind myself about all the crowds and the loud noises, and I would have eventually said no.  Not this time.

Taking chances is worth it. 

Have you taken a chance lately?

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by sensuousamberville on April 28, 2013 - 4:56 pm

    Each outing like this will build you up, make you stronger. :) pssst you have some fun too.

  2. #3 by Dave Smith on April 28, 2013 - 5:00 pm

    I’m proud of you! Gotta take changes every now and then. :) I would say my last year or so has been full of taking chances, so take your pick! Using match.com, going on dates through match.com, moving in with my (then) girlfriend, moving to Silverton, leaving my first lawyer job, asking Amanda to marry me, etc. Well, that last one really wasn’t much of a risk. If you’re doing the whole proposal thing right, then you should already know the answer to that question! But yeah, I wholeheartedly agree with the taking chances thing and I’m glad you’re doing so!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,385 other followers

