Getting Back Up Again

When I started blogging again in April (was it really that long ago?), I had every intention of keeping up the blogging at least once a week.  I had topics I was going to write about and all that stuff that you need for a blog.

What happened?  Life happened.

Real life pretty much knocked me down and I’ve been fighting to get back up ever since.  Have you ever read the book, “Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day” by Judith Viorst?  That’s what I’ve been calling my year.  Actually, I may have been using some profanities when I’ve described my year to others, but I’ll leave it at that.  Anything that could go wrong this year, pretty much has.

It all started at the end of March.  Actually, all the bad luck stuff started in January, but all the health related stuff started at the end of March with a cold and cough that lingered through April, wearing me down quite a bit.  During May and June I was in the hospital on 4 separate occasions.  Two emergency room visits and other visits to fix the reasons I had ended up in the hospital in the first place.

I joke that my July goal is to stay out of the hospital.  Honestly?  I’m not joking.  I don’t want to go back in.  No hospital visits this month.  Knock on wood.   

The only thing I miss about being sick is that I was losing weight like crazy.  Yeah, that’s not happening so much now, but at least I’m getting healthy again.  I still want to lose the weight, but it will probably be a more healthy weight loss now.  I haven’t gained all the weight back that I lost (thank goodness), but I have gained a few pounds back.

All of that health stuff combined with the school year ending, moving out of my apartment, looking for a new job, and other things that have gone on during the year, It’s been pretty stressful.  And I’ve feel like I’ve been playing catch up in life all this month.

But, at least I’m here to play catch up.  I’m working on trying to get things back together that felt like they were falling apart while I was sick.  And the year is half over, so my luck has got to start going uphill right? 

I still plan on blogging at least once a week or maybe more. I still have those topics I want to write about plus more that I’ve experienced in the last few months  I’m not sure what days I’ll blog yet.  Before everything happened, I had planned on Sundays being my blog day.  Obviously this is not a Sunday, but I felt like blogging anyway.

See you again, sometime next week.

Have you ever had one of those days, weeks, or even years when anything that could go wrong did?

,

  1. #1 by Rhonda Hopkins on July 26, 2013 - 11:00 pm

    Melissa, I’m sorry to hear you’ve been going through such a tough time. I hope that’s all behind you now. You’ll be in my prayers. I know how it is to have medical issues like that, which can also lead to depression – so make sure you’re taking care of that part of you as well. I’m here to tell you that things do get better. Take care of yourself. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,385 other followers

